Jazz concert afternoon : Natural Information Society

Date(s) - Jun 12
16:30 - 18:30


champs-elysees-filmIn partnership with the Champs-Elysées Film Festival

Joshua Abrams developed his voice in the rich ferment of the 1990s Chicago music world, participating heavily across the city’s jazz, experimental & rock scenes. Since 2011 Joshua Abrams has toured North America & Europe with a shifting-line up of musicians as ‘Natural Information Society’. Since its creation in 2010, Natural information Society has released three albums: Natural Information in 2010, Represencing in 2012 and Magnetoception in 2015. His music moves in regular but slow rhythmic paces, alternating contemplative spaces and group improvisation, combining ancient and modern instrumentation: from electric guitar to gimbri (three-string African bass plucked lute). His album Magnetoception was named the #3 recording of 2015 by The Wire Magazine and the #2 experimental album of the year by Pitchfork. Current & former band members include Lisa Alvarado, Jason Adasiewicz, Mikel Avery, Ben Boye, Hamid Drake, Emmett Kelly, Jeff Parker, Frank Rosaly & Chad Taylor.

Natural Information Society : website

The concert follows a round table entitled «Chicago and Politics » organized by the Champs Elysées Film Festival, partner of the Mona Bismarck American Center. The round table focuses on representations of the politics, economics and culture of the City of Chicago in current film, aiming to put the Windy City’s  issues into perspective, and reflect on its comparisons to the City of Paris. Moderated by Courrier International.

The Champs-Élysées Film Festival, created by producer, distributor and exhibitor Sophie Dulac, celebrates its fifth anniversary from the 7th to the 14th of June in all the movie theaters on the Champs-Élysées. The ambition this year is to bring to the audience the best of French and American cinema, through a true festival experience: films, Q&As and masterclasses, but also events and special evenings entirely dedicated to festival-goers. Under the presidency of Nicole Garcia and Alexandre Aja, French Presidents of the Festival, a jury will be created for the first time. Its five members embody the present and future of French cinema: Déborah François, Félix Moati, Sophie Letourneur, Vincent Rottiers and Zita Hanrot. This jury will be responsible for awarding the Jury Prize for Best American Independent Film.

// EAT: Come and enjoy a traditional NY hot-dog from Hutch Hot-Dogs House //
Hutch Hot-Dogs House : website | facebook